Textures, Rhythms & Rhymes

When I created the ‘Etsy Collage’, “Speckled, Spotted, Dappled, Dotted” I couldn’t get the words out of my head; they bounced, bounded and richoeted across the ceiling and walls like a handball in court.

I couldn’t help myself. Like a catchy tune that sticks in your mind, I periodically blurted out,

“Speckled, Spotted, Dappled, Dotted”

“Speckled, Spotted, Dappled, Dotted”

“Speckled, Spotted, Dappled, Dotted”

After hearing this for about a week, my boyfriend replied, “Lumpy, Bumpy, Pimpled, Dimpled”.

Precisely.

Not only do I love the textured rhythms of words; I also love the textured style of fabrics and yarns.  When I’m window shopping for fabric & yarn, I’m fully absorbed  in a deep blissful state. Fabrics and yarns that is, of the lumpy, bumpy, pimpled, dimpled variety.

Newly inspired, I took myself on an “Artist Way, Artist Date” to an upholstery store and selected lumpy, bumpy, pimpled, dimpled fabric swatches. I was totally absorbed in the highest zone of bliss. I exceeded my lunch time hour.  I had to feed a few more quarters in the meter. Pure bliss.

I got a little carried away.

I read somewhere that when customers touch merchandise they are more likely to buy it.  I believe that’s true. I always like to feel the merchandise before I buy it, especially fabric and yarn.

 

 

 

 

For awhile I had to hold myself back from yarn stores when my personal stock of lumpy, bumpy, pimpled, dimpled fibers became large enough to last for a few lifetimes worth of projects.

I think I must have spun and woven my own handmade woolens in a past life.  I have always been comforted and lulled by the rhythmic repetitious motion of knitting and pearling. Knit one, pearl one, knit one, pearl another. Back again and over again.

“Lumpy, Bumpy, Pimpled, Dimpled”.

Now that I have a new set of words; what do you think the theme for my next Esty Collage will be?

This entry was posted in Ponderings, Silly Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Textures, Rhythms & Rhymes

  1. dimplestitch says:

    hello from Dimplestitch.

    Great post! Love your little rhyme!

    L x

  2. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours lately, yet I by
    no means discovered any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s lovely value enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content as you did, the internet might be a lot more useful than ever before.

  3. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site. Studying this info So i am glad to convey that I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most definitely will make sure to do not overlook this website and give it a look on a relentless basis.

Leave a Reply

