on Friday

This was such a wonderfully fun “story snippet” to write! I’d like to thank all of you who contributed your wonderful words!!!!

This week the words came from near and far…..

The below words came from Instagram, many of these talented people have wonderful handmade and vintage shops on Etsy; if you get the chance, check out their shop links @ their Instagram accounts:

Friday   @4envisioningvintage
cocoon @merruli
again @teresawoets
retrieval @kimrobinson121
nervous @irishvikingsdesigns
locust @shaziva
sweetness @thatoldbluehouse
scurryfunge @thelittlethingsvin
imperfection @artfultea

And to round out the number of chosen words to the magical number of 15, I received these choice words as well:

yak – from Barry
hotel- from Meyer
beautiful- from Jose
opulent-from Roslyn
ring – from my sister Diane’s family
smile-from my sister Diane’s family

so here are all the wonderful chosen words….

Friday, cocoon, again, retrieval, nervous, locust, sweetness, scurryfunge, imperfection, yak, hotel, beautiful, opulent, ring, smile

And here’s the story snippet that I wrote with them…. Can you find where each word is embedded in the tale?…

“on Friday”

it was that time of year again
the call came in on Friday
as I was sipping my vanilla tea
cocooning
in my favorite window seat
watching the snow fall
wrapped in my soft woven woolen blanket
made from the fiber of yak
savoring the warmth
and the sweetness
of the serene scene

friday 1

no warning this time
the relatives would be descending like locusts
a week early
arriving tomorrow in fact
no time to be nervous
I flung the blanket aside
and threw myself into scurryfunge
frantically cleaning for the unexpected onset of the relatives
all the while knowing the futility of it
knowing that all my imperfections
would show through

friday 2

and as I stooped down on my knees
reaching
straining
grasping
during the retrieval
of cereal crumbs
hidden deep within the darkness
under the massive old noisy refrigerator
I had an epiphany
holidays could be fun
I realized
holidays should be fun
it wasn’t beyond the realm of possibility

friday 3

suddenly inspired
I vowed to myself
that this year it would be different
tomorrow when the doorbell would ring
way too early in the morning
I would open the door and smile
giving them the usual run of the house
and excuse myself
and head off
to the most
opulent
beautiful
downtown hotel
for a week long stay

friday 4

written by Susan Eileen Jizba
weaver & wordsmith….The Weaver Of Words

http://www.instagram.com/theweaverofwords

where the words are located in the story…..

Friday, cocoon, again, retrieval, nervous, locust, sweetness, scurry funge, imperfection, yak, hotel, beautiful, opulent, ring, smile

“on Friday”

it was that time of year AGAIN
the call came in on FRIDAY
as I was sipping my vanilla tea
COCOONING
in my favorite window seat
watching the snow fall
wrapped in my soft woven woolen blanket
made from the fiber of YAK
savoring the warmth
and the SWEETNESS
of the serene scene
no warning this time
the relatives would be descending like LOCUSTS
a week early
arriving tomorrow in fact
no time to be NERVOUS
I flung the blanket aside
and threw myself into a SCURRYFUNGE
frantically cleaning for the unexpected onset of the relatives
all the while knowing the futility of it
knowing that all my IMPERFECTIONS
would show through
and as I stooped down on my knees
reaching
straining
grasping
during the RETRIEVAL
of cereal crumbs
hidden deep within the darkness
under the massive old noisy refrigerator
I had an epiphany
holidays could be fun
I realized
holidays should be fun
it wasn’t beyond the realm of possibility
suddenly inspired
I vowed to myself
that this year it would be different
tomorrow when the doorbell would RING
way too early in the morning
I would open the door and SMILE
giving them the usual run of the house
and excuse myself
and head off
to the most
OPULENT
BEAUTIFUL
downtown HOTEL
for a week long stay

on-friday TREASURY (2)

link to the Etsy treasury:

https://www.etsy.com/treasury/MzMzNjUyNDV8MjcyNDQ1ODIxNQ/on-friday

This entry was posted in A Snippet of Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to on Friday

  1. I absolutely marvel at your ability to take 15 “random” words, craft a lovely story from them, and also create a beautiful treasury using a images related to the tale. Amazing and wonderful! I’m delighted to be included.

  2. this is just the coolest thing how you put all these random words into one story.

Leave a Reply

